What’s in My Bag: Au Pair Necessities

  1. Tissues
  2. Band-aids
  3. More tissues
  4. Some of those wet wipe things
  5. Something distracting (alternatively the ability to make pocket lint entertaining)
  6. A book to read while you sit on the bench at the park
  7. Chapstick
  8. A snack/water
  9. A separate snack/water for the walking germs (alternatively children)
  10. A coin to flip for particularly heated disputes
  11. Absolutely no other money so they can’t ask you to buy them candy/tickets for the manège (carousel)/whatever else crosses their little mind at the time
4 thoughts on “What’s in My Bag: Au Pair Necessities

  1. My host mom gives me cash just in case he asks for a ride on the carousel, a bon-bon, or something from the bakery. I just have to keep track of what I spend it on and let her know the remaining balance. It’s pretty convenient because I can run to the store if an ingredient is missing or pick up baguettes if I’m already heading to the baker and no extra cost.

    Like

    1. That’s a good system. They have a random coin jar and my host mom always tells me to take money from that if I need anything, but it’s almost too much trouble because there’s nothing bigger than the occasional 50 centimes, haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

