Pinterest Almost-Fail: Homemade Goldfish

Pop quiz: what do Goldfish, peanut butter and granola have in common?

Answer: They’re all difficult to get or extremely expensive in France. I learned this fact when my host family requested I bring them with me in August. Of course, in the ensuing packing disaster, I only had room for the Goldfish in my suitcase, shout out here to my boyfriend for bringing peanut butter with him on his trip later in the month. And, double of course, the boys ate through the two giant bags of goldfish in the first three weeks since they were a key part of snack every day. Being an avid pinner (meaning I use it to avoid getting out of bed), I knew when I found this homemade Goldfish recipe on Pinterest there was an afternoon activity in our future. And, it would kill two bird with one stone–the boys would get a fun activity AND they’d have goldfish for snack! AND they would learn the phrase “kill two birds with one stone”! They’ll be giving me the plaque for best au pair ever any day now.

First problem: Do they have cheddar cheese in France?

Solution: Yes! Although it’s an almost scary orange and it’s circular. Strange. But, hey, tastes fine!

Thankfully, the rest of the ingredients were easy–butter, salt, cold water, flour. You mix everything in a food processor and ba-bam! But then…

Second problem: There’s no food processor.

Solution: A.. hand blender? Looks like this, usually used for giving soups a smooth consistency. Maybe this is a common thing and I’m just not very culinarily advanced (I’m guessing this is the case), but I was pretty mind-blown the first time my host mom made a smooth soup. However, the blending part took a precarious turn, and the whole project almost turned into a Pinterest Fail, but we managed to get it to a decent consistency and refrigerated the dough as instructed. Side note, A basically lost interest after the cheese grating and playing with flour parts were over. So, if you’re planning on doing this project with a 4 year-old, that’s about how long it’ll keep them busy. Thankfully, my backups M (9) and J (12) were more focused.

banner

Now comes the fun part! Cutting out shapes, baking and eating 🙂 Also, I hand-made those goldfish cookie cutters. Regular size and jumbo. Out of a soda can. NOT as easy as the tutorial leads you to believe, but thankfully my Design major has prepared me for cutting and reshaping a myriad of materials.

IMG_3810

The End Result: Very tasty, cheesy little cracker! I think the bigger ones were almost better because they had a nice consistency. And obviously the boys were overjoyed and wanted them in their snacks every day for the whole week!!!! JUST KIDDING both of them decided they didn’t want them the next day and haven’t eaten a single one since that day. I think J and I are the only ones who have eaten them. I guess it might be considered a Pinterest fail after all…

2 thoughts on “Pinterest Almost-Fail: Homemade Goldfish

Leave a Reply

